Search our Shop

    FREE UK Shipping on orders over £75 | Every purchase supports the British Library

    New snacks on sale now for a limited time! Use code NEW for 15% off.

    The Man Who Didn't Fly

    A new addition to the British Library Crime Classics Series, Gold Dagger award-winning Margot Bennett was a Scottish crime author and screenwriter. The story was short-listed for the first CWA Gold Dagger award in 1955 and takes place in multiple parts of the U.K. (Ireland, Wales, London). It includes the extremely rare short story from Bennett, ‘No Bath for the Browns’.

    Four men had arranged to fly to Dublin. When their aeroplane descended as a fireball into the Irish Sea, only three of them were on board. With the identities of the passengers lost beneath the waves, a tense and perplexing investigation begins to determine the living from the dead, with scarce evidence to follow beyond a few snippets of overheard conversation and one family’s patchy account of the three days prior to the flight.

    Who was the man who didn’t fly? What did he have to gain? And would he commit such an explosive murder to get it? First published in 1955, Bennett’s ingenious mystery remains an innovative and thoroughly entertaining inversion of the classic whodunit. This edition also includes the rare short story ‘No Bath for the Browns’.

    Published:July 2020

    Author: Margot Bennett

    Brand: British Library Publishing

    Number of pages: 256

    Binding: Paperback

    Dimensions: 190 x 130 mm